Medicaid: 1634 states and Section 206(b) states

There are two primary governmental medical programs: (1) Federal medicare and (2) state medicaid. Beneficiaries receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) residing in “1634” states are categorical eligible and are automatically enrolled in medicaid. These individual do not need to apply for medicaid benefits separately.

The section 206(b) states have opted to use more restrictive criterias in determining medicaid eligibility. For beneficiary residing in “209(b)” states must separately apply for medicaid.


1634 209(b) SSI 1634 209(b) SSI
Alabama 1634 Montana 1634
Alaska SSI Nebraska SSI
Arizona 1634 Nevada SSI
Arkansas 1634 New Hampshire 209(b)
California 1634 New Jersey 1634
Colorado 1634 New Mexico 1634
Connecticut 209(b) New York 1634
Delaware 1634 North Carolina 1634
Dist of Columbia N Mariana Islands SSI
Florida 1634 North Dakota 209(b)
Georgia 1634 Ohio 1634
Hawaii 209(b) Oklahoma 209(b)
Idaho SSI Oregon SSI
Illinois 209(b) Pennsylvania 1634
Indiana 1634 Rhode Island 1634
Iowa 1634 South Carolina 1634
Kansas SSI South Dakota 1634
Kentucky 1634 Tennessee 1634
Louisiana 1634 Texas 1634
Maine 1634 Utah SSI
Maryland 1634 Vermont 1634
Massachusetts 1634 Virginia 209(b)
Michigan 1634 Washington 1634
Minnesota 209(b) West Virginia 1634
Mississippi 1634 Wisconsin 1634
Missouri 209(b) Wyoming 1634


1634:  States Automatically Grant Medicaid With SSI Disability.

209(b): The States with Their Own Medicaid Eligibility Criteria.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: